Chuck Deyo Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations 2018 Deyo Scholarship Recipients

Gabriel Towns and Jeana Weatherspoon

The fourth annual Chuck Deyo Scholar Athlete awards were presented at Northland High School’s Awards Ceremony on May 21st.  This year’s recipients, who will each receive  $1,500.00 through this Northland specific scholarship, are Gabriel Towns and Jeana Weatherspoon.

Gabe will be attending Kent State University in the fall to study fashion merchandising and business.  He hopes to also study abroad in Europe and possibly in Los Angeles.  His long range goal is to develop a fashionable clothing line that is also environmentally friendly.  Gabe is an accomplished basketball player, having played four years as a Viking.  He is a National Honor Society member, worked on the yearbook and participated in STEM Club.

In her four years at Northland Jeana played basketball, volleyball and competed in track and field.  She is a member of the National Honor Society and Link Crew.  Jeana will attend Alderson Broaddus University in WV, where she will play basketball and study nursing.  She hopes to become a pediatric nurse and pursue basketball after college in the U.S. or in Europe.

Awards were presented by NHSAF Board members Randy Suver ’71 and Barbara Moore Ruhl ’69.  NHSAF thanks all of the students who applied for the Chuck Deyo Scholarship.  Chuck would have been very proud of the worthy students who have applied for this scholarship over the years.


Congratulations 2017 Deyo Scholarship Recipients

Nylin Gatewood and Julia Kurian

Deyo Scholarship recipients ride in the Karl Road 4th of July Parade

Nylin Gatewood and Julia Kurian will each receive $1,500.00 to be used for their college education from NHSAF through the Chuck Deyo Scholar Athlete Scholarship.  Nylin was active in STEM Club and the Math Team.  He played basketball and baseball, and was part of the Track and Field team over various years while at Northland.     Julia was active with STEM Club and was a CCS Student Ambassador.  She played varsity tennis for Northland.  Both students were part of the National Honors Society as well as the Link Crew, which helps freshmen acclimate to the challenges of high school.

Nylin will be attending Ohio University as a Bobcat in the fall to study Accounting.  Julia will pursue a degree in Industrial Engineering at The Ohio State University.  The Viking family wishes them well as they start their college years!

NHSAF congratulates the 2016 Deyo Scholarship recipients!

Ciera King and Wedly Cazy

The 2016 Chuck Deyo Scholarships were presented at the NHS Awards Ceremony in May. Recipients Cierra King and Wedly Cazy received the awards from NHSAF Board Members Neal (Ric) Johnson and Randy Suver, both from Class of 71.

Seniors Cierra King and Wedly Cazy received certificates of award at the Northland HS  Awards Ceremony May 19th.

NHSAF Board Members Neal (Ric) Johnson and Randy Suver were on hand to make the presentations.

Each student will receive $1,500 to use for their college education.  Cierra will attend Denison University to earn a degree in Communications and Public Relations.

Wedly will be going to Ohio State to study Fashion Merchandising and pursue an advanced business degree.

NHSAF salutes this second year of recipients and also those who applied for the Deyo Scholarship.  We wish them well as they graduate high school and move on to college!


The First Chuck Deyo Scholarship Recipients

The first recipients of the Chuck Deyo Scholarship are Northland seniors Aleah Holley and Morgan Ly.

The first recipients of the Chuck Deyo Scholarship are Northland seniors Aleah Holley and Morgan Ly.

Meet the first recipients of the NHSAF Chuck Deyo Scholarship for scholar athletes!  Among their many high school achievements, Aleah Holley and Morgan Ly both have better than a 4.0 cumulative GPA, have competed in three sports while at Northland, and also have competed in national competitions with the S.T.E.M. Club.   Aleah, an All-City Cross Country member, will attend Miami University to earn a degree in International Studies before studying to become a lawyer.   Morgan, who ran Cross Country and Track and played baseball, will attend OSU, and has set his sites to become a doctor. All 2015 applicants for the scholarship were beyond outstanding and have much to look forward to in their bright futures.   The 2015 Chuck Deyo Scholarship awards were presented during the high school awards ceremony by NHSAF Board members Ric (Neal) Johnson ’71,  Bobbi Moore Ruhl ’69, and Randy Suver ’71.  Class of 2015, You Make NHSAF Proud.   Go Vikings!!